wickedworx

December 14, 2009

8 days

Filed under: Uncategorized — wickedworx dev clone 1 @ 11:40 pm

I’ve got 8 days away from the computer…

On my netbook at the moment, and can’t really do any dev on it.

Started on an entry for assemblee (pt2), on the tigsource forums – but obviously the deadline in early January will be a challenge, as i can’t really do any work until after xmas.

This time without a dev PC has meant I’ve been able to update my todo/plans/etc.. It’s also meant I’ve been able to think about ways of improving my shared codebase, and read up on a few things which I plan to implement.

In EGV, I use a very game-specific high level scripting system. Its formatted as XML, and is a “list” of instructions (with parameters) which are built in to objects to be iterated through in-game. Scripts can run in parallel with each other and with the game, so I an use them for cutscenes, player decisions, or even continuous effects or behaviours. Its a very simple system, but so far I have found it to be very effective.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

